1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Western Midweight Backdrag Or Not?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by doublewide6, Jan 30, 2015.

1. doublewide6

doublewide6 Junior Member

Hi guys, I have been reading through many posts on this forum and am on the fence about backdrags. I only plow driveways and I do backdragging for most. My plow only weighs 500#'s so there is not a whole lot of pressure when I backdrag. It clears the snow, but it is not black like blacktop. I'm wondering two things: does the western factory back drag edge work well? and would I be better off just backdragging then plowing the snow remains forward then backdragging them out again? I'm new to plowing, so do most guys backdrag then plow forward then backdrag again? Thanks for any help.
  2. NBI Lawn

NBI Lawn PlowSite.com Addict

I feel your pain. There are a few options for back drag edges. The one I would steer away from is the on that mounts using the same holes as the cutting edge. It's basically a piece on angle iron. I hear they bend Perth easy and have seen a few all bent up. I would recumbent a hinge type back drag blade. Most of the time they are custom jobs so check with your dealer and see if they know of anybody in your area that makes them. Maybe there's a manufacturer but I've never heard of one.
    When back dragging you can make multiple passes but once you drive on it the snow packs under the tires and it gets even harder to make a clean scrape.
  3. cj7plowing

cj7plowing Senior Member