1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Western has officially lost my future business (Sorry for the long post)

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by KM81, Feb 15, 2012.

1. KM81

KM81 Member

So after flipping back and forth between the HTS and Snowdogg MD75 for my Jeep, I decided to buy the HTS, because I have used only Western products my entire career. We use the Jeep specifically for city residential's, because its impossible to fit anything bigger in 95% of them.

Now let me start off by saying that I am an ASE Certified Technician with an AOS in Automotive Service from Alfred State College. That being said, I don't like it when other people work on my vehicles and equipment.

So I went to my Western Dealer, and wanted to purchase the HTS cash & carry. Well the dealer told me that Western wouldn't warranty the plow unless it was installed by a dealer, because the dealers are "certified to install them, and go through rigorous training to ensure they are done correctly" (Sure they are)

So in the end I let the dealer install it for me. I went to pick the plow up and everything looked good, and functioned as it should (So I thought) Before I left, I asked the dealer about how to activate the scrape lock function. He looked at me with a very confused look and said "Huh? Im not sure what you mean." I explained to him that the HTS has a scrape lock function and showed it to him in the brochure. He had no clue. (I ended up finding out when I got home by reading the owners manual.) This was my first red flag.