1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

western hand held controller issues

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by Bigford0707, Dec 23, 2009.

1. Bigford0707

Bigford0707 Junior Member

Hi i have a western ultramount plow on a superduty with a 3 port isolation module, My issue, is with my hand held controller. I can power on the controller and operate the plow, and a few seconds later the controller shuts off and i have to hit the power button again to turn the controller back on. For some reason i can not keep the controller lit. Now im new with this plow and i bought it used, and just installed on my truck per the western instructions. I used the 12v accessorie like the manual asked for the hand held controller! Im stuck on why the controller quits shutting off on me. Well any info would be great and you guys in these forums really know you stuff.

2. twinman326

twinman326 PlowSite.com Addict

Sound like your control is timing out too fast.

After 20 of idle, the control will shut off. After that time, to reactivate just press press the on and off

If you just turn it on then 10 or more seconds later shut off, there might be a problem with the hand held controller PC board..

Did this just started??

Try turning it on again, and time it to see when it shut down.

U also hook it to a "accessory" (key on , the power light comes on after you push the on button) with the fuse holder.

Or did hit hook the power wire (red wire) direct with out the fuse??

Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  3. twinman326

what year is the vehicle, and what kind of plow??

The more info, the better we can try to resolve the problem.

4. no lead

no lead PlowSite.com Addict