1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Western Conventional Compatibility?

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by kwegman003, Nov 5, 2007.

1. kwegman003

kwegman003 Member

I am looking at a western 7ft 6in conventional mount plow. It is off a 1992 Ford F250 and I am looking to put it on a 1997 Ford f350. will the wiring and mounting process work. I was looking at unimount/ultramounts but the price of the plows was $500 more than the value of a truck. I also had the same plow setup on my chevy 2500 last year so I am familiar with how it works.

Also how hard is it to install this plow? I am handy with tools, but do not have welder/torches or anything like that. I am a college student looking to save about $1200 on using a conventional plow setup.

2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

The mount isn't gonna fit your F350. The frames are different between the 250's and the 350's since one is twin I beam and the others solid axle..

3. kwegman003

kwegman003 Member

thanks! I figured that but I called the guy selling it and he said he thinks it will fit trying to sell it. Man would I have been stuck with that if it didnt work. Im Running out of time...getting chilly

4. NJ Plowman

NJ Plowman Senior Member

Don't forget that the conventional mount Western plows don't work on vehicles with airbags!

If you put it on your truck and get in an accident your insurance company won't cover you!

5. 82F100SWB

82F100SWB Junior Member

The frames are exactly the same between the 250 and 350. Yes, the 250 has twin traction beam, but, both being 4x4, both are leaf sprung, and both frames are identical. The only difference between the 250 and 350 under the nose are the axle and steering.

6. B&B