1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Western 8ft blade

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by snate, Nov 18, 2002.

1. snate

snate Junior Member

It's my first time using a Western blade and it's seems to buckle under it's self when I push. I undestand the springs are there for that purpose but it literally bends that headlights aim downwards.
    It does this over any uneven surface. Should I just push and relax? Is it meant to buckle that much. Is the spring tension adjustable? I had an old Fisher and I could push snow without the whole blade and headlights bending and buckling.
  2. paul soccodato

paul soccodato Senior Member

hey snate, not to start this back up but, something sounds really wrong if the lift frame is bending downward.everyone told you not to put that 8' plow on the truck, and now you have got problems with it. do the right thing and take it off.
  3. snate

snate Junior Member

I dont think it could be my frame moving or the truck would be driving sideways. I just want to know if Western plows are meant to bend when pushing hard. My truck is not the issue.
  4. paul soccodato

meant to bend? think about that. if the headlights on the lift frame deflect downwards when your pushing ,something in the rear is moving upwards. either somethings loose, or something is bending. take a look where the plow connects to the truck.
  5. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine