1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Weird situation Need some advice please

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by M.A.H., Aug 15, 2012.

1. M.A.H.

M.A.H. Junior Member

I received a call from another plower in my area, about filling in for him for about a month this winter. At first I thought great, but then he said he had someone else to plow the lots open for him (all commercial lots grocery store, churches, banks, and a few other places). He just wants me to salt and do the walkways, using his salt. All the properties are spread out a good distance but I can make them work in my route. I'm not to sure about this, I've never done half a job before and never used anyone else's material(salt). I don't even know how it will work or what to charge. If I get there first before it's plowed open, how can I salt? Which means I'll have to come back later and throw my own scheduled route out of whack. What if the snow is not cleared to my liking? Who would be responsible if someone falls or gets hurt, since there are 2 different companies there doing the job? I don't know if anyone else here does this, I just have a bad feeling about it. Any advise would be great.

Thanks

2. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

Walk away, don't look back.

3. SullivanSeptic

SullivanSeptic PlowSite Veteran

I would walk. But if you decide to do it, just charge him by the hour. Drive time to and from lots is getting billed. I would have him sign a waiver regarding liability also. Also let him know that your lots come first and his lots get done when your "available". Otherwise it isn't even close to being worth it

4. dfd9

dfd9 PlowSite.com Addict

I disagree with the previous 2.