1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

weight of snow?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Barrakudaman, Sep 12, 2010.

1. Barrakudaman

Barrakudaman Member

I know it may seem like a stupid question, but this is my first year and a lot of my customers want snow hauled away. I have a 14' dump trailer with 4' sides and two 7k axles under it. Am i going to be able to fill that thing to the top with snow or is snow like dirt and i can only fill it a 1/4 of the way. Thanks in advance, just wanna know if i need to start looking for some type of dumb truck. Whats the best method?:help:

2. buckwheat_la

buckwheat_la 2000 Club Member

U can put two foot extensions on those sides and lift that, no problem. We do a lot of removal using dump trailers just like that.

3. PabstBlueRibbon

PabstBlueRibbon Senior Member

coat that trailer if Fluid Film so the snow does not stick

4. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

Your truley asking a loaded question. There is no set ammount that snow weighs. It all depends on the moisture content of the snow. You will have to get a feel for it as you go. If it is a wet heavy snow then you might only be able to fill it half full. If it is a dry powdery snow then you may be able to put 5 foot extentions on it and still be fine. As stated above though coat the floor and sides with Fluid Film, and it will come out alot easier. You should be able to get Fluid Film in 5 gallon buckets and spary it with a garden type sprayer.

5. Barrakudaman

Barrakudaman Member

Thanks for the info.

6. Pristine PM ltd

Pristine PM ltd PlowSite Veteran

Are we talking resi's or commercial? Snow takes up way more room then people think it does.

7. Grass Master