1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Weight in the rear?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by f2501960, Oct 24, 2002.

1. f2501960

f2501960 Junior Member

The Truck: 1997 5.8L (Old Body Style) F250HD XCab 4X4
    The Question:
    It's my first year plowing on my own. Many years ago I plowed with my dad's Dodge Power Wagon. I was wondering if you should add any weight in the bed over the axel? My dad never did however it sounds like it would make sense to me.

Thanks in advance. :drinkup:
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2002
  2. ultimate lawns

ultimate lawns Member

I have 2 trucks. 1 dodge 2500 2/4 ton. and 1 ford f-250 3/4 ton.
    I always have 1 pallet of salt in each truck. The weight help a LOT!
    It gives you more traction and most likely, you wont be getting stuck. Happened to me before, i was out plowing one of my smaller comercial lots, I had about 9 bags of salt, (not enough)
    each bag weights 80 pounds. I got stuck 3 times with my dodge.
    There was a f-150 pick up that drove by and turned around to pull me out with his chains. I felt stupid, a f-150 pulling my dodge
    2500 out. :eek: . And to answer your question, yes, weight will help you. If you dont have it, you will slide all over. :eek:

ultimate lawns and more,
  3. Ben

Ben Member

I plow with at least 600 pounds in the back. The extra weight lets you plow in 2wd in large flat lots.
  4. firefighter

firefighter Member
    from Ohio

I plow with a1977 1/2 ton chevy short bed truck with a 8' 2" V Boss with 400 to 600 lbs of weight in the bed. I took 2x4 and cut out frames 24" square and filed with cement. Makes it easy to add or take away weight.:eek:
  5. hyperpack

hyperpack Senior Member