1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Warn ProVantage Spring PROBLEMS

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by rhulm1, Feb 10, 2010.

1. rhulm1

rhulm1 Junior Member
    from ND

I have a front mount 60" blade that I've been using for a few months now. The problem I've been experiencing from day 1 is that the blade keeps on folding over anytime I get into a little packed snow. There is no stiffness to the blade at all. I double checked the owners manual to review the settings, but it appears that I have everything set up correctly. The 2 springs that connect the blade to the base contain a hook on Both ends. On top, the hook attaches to the Blade. On the bottom, the hook attaches to the base mounting connector. On the base end, the spring mounting connector has two positions about 1 inch apart, up for soft, down for stiff. I have it set at the down stiff position. I also adjusted the blade angle and tried all three positions, but that didn't help either. I had myself convinced that this was normal until I tried my brother's Moose plow. Major difference!! He has bolts on the top of his springs the he uses to adjust the spring tension. His Moose blade does not fold over unless you hit something permanently fixed to the ground. It does one heck of a job pushing heavy hard packed snow.

Overall, the appearance of my Warn Provantage plow looks much more heavy duty than my bothers Moose plow. The Moose plow however, out performs the Warn plow by a long shot!

2. johnscram

johnscram Junior Member

I have a 54 inch pro vantage on my prarie 360 and i have used it all year with no problems so far i would suggest adjusting the attack angle it dosent sound like you have tried that.