1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Want to get Started.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by snowman79, Dec 8, 2009.

1. snowman79

snowman79 Senior Member
    from MidWest

Well I need a lot of help from individuals and those who have been in the industry for a while to guide me as I want to get something started. I have been plowing snow for about 5 years now since i got my license. I have run a lot of different equipment and know quite a bit about what all is involved in providing good ice and snow removal. I just need some help on how to start up, the legal/business end of it, and some help with bidding as I have never been involved with the bidding side of it. I am presently buying a truck a dodge ram 2500 with the cummins motor, and over the spring/summer am going to look for a plow and maybe a used salter. I have a couple guys that I have contacted in helping plow or "sub" for me as it will just be me as an employee at first. I currently plow for a company but this year I got the hours cut and wont be plowing as much as I did last year. I would like to run a snow plowing business myself as I can gaurantee that I will be happy with the way things are done and carried out. Thanks

2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

The "search" button is your friend

3. plowman4life

plowman4life Senior Member

absolutly. use the seach button. there are hundreds of posts and threads of knowledge that has been bestowed upon others in your position. guaranteed you can find what you need here without even asking a question.

could take you longer to get through the info on this site than to start the business. but minor details :salute:

4. Premis