1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Vehicle rust (any way to slow it down)?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Hubjeep, Dec 1, 2004.

1. Hubjeep

Hubjeep Senior Member

I found the power steering lines on the 1992 Wrangler I have been plowing with for the past four years rusted through when I started it up for the season. Once the second line comes in it will be fixed, but I am concerned about rust on the rest of the vehicle.

Does anyone spray anything on the frame/underneth, like rust preventative or paint? Things like the brake lines seem to have little protection. What about spraying parts down with WD-40?

Any ideas?

2. PlowKid150

PlowKid150 Senior Member

Hey johnny, Go to the dealer/paint shop/wherever and have them undercoat the truck. This will prevent further rusting, and paint over and repair the current rust. It is a cheap process to do, and it looks to me like thats just the ticket for your application.

3. Tarkus

Tarkus PlowSite.com Addict

I have has bad luck with rust proofing after that fact as I have seen it eat away under the coating. You need to try to stop of slow it down. I use a mixture of heavy oil and keroesene to spray my plows at start and a few times during season and also under trucks were ever rust is try to start. It works pretty good and slows down the cancer a lot.
  4. PlowKid150

PlowKid150 Senior Member