1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Value of truck?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Kollerman, Jan 13, 2010.

1. Kollerman

Kollerman Senior Member

Guys, I have a question for everyone. I have been doing snow removal now for about 3 years. It has just been removing snow from sidewalks and driveways for residential customers and a few smaller business owners. I would really like to upgrade to a 3/4 ton truck and plow for next year and expand my services.

My father called me today, since he knows I have been casually looking around, and told me to look at this truck that he found on the internet:

This is pretty much exactly the truck that I would want. I would prefer an extended cab (in order to take the family around as well when I am not plowing), but I would take a regular cab cause my 1500 ext cab sierra that I already have, has been paid off for a while.

I really like the truck and the plow, but just can't get over how much they are asking for this truck. Yeah the truck only has 22,500 miles on it, but it is a 2003 6.0L regular cab. I looked up the KBB on this and the suggested retail was only $14,900. Am I looking at this wrong or do all you think they are asking a lot for this truck as well?

If so, how much would you consider this truck to be worth? What would be a reasonable offer to extend to them?

2. mycirus

mycirus Senior Member
    from Mass

That is way too much. I would say 17k would be a generous offer, but 16ish would be better. I would keep looking.
  3. sno commander

sno commander PlowSite.com Addict
    from ct