1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

V10 = Cracked Windsheild

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by PremierLand, Dec 30, 2006.

1. PremierLand

PremierLand PlowSite.com Addict
    from detroit

It has happened to me and some other people I know...

We all have V10s and under a load, the tourqe twists the frame and cracks the windshield... Anyone else have this happen and wonder why?

2. diehrd

diehrd Senior Member
    from NY

That sounds silly,Not doubting ya but if thats the case the trucks are twisting there own frames to do it..And that is bad news....

3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

I have been plowing with my F-250 with a V-10 for 3 years now. I push an 8 1/2 Snoway V-plow and never had an issue with window cracking. Check out this site but no one there has ever posted anything about it I have read,

http://www.ford-trucks.com

4. FORDV10

FORDV10 Member
    from CT.

I never had a problem with my windshield... had the truck new since 2003........:drinkup:

5. BSDeality

BSDeality Senior Member

I would think the diesel would be more prone to torquing the windshield than the v10. AFAIK no one I know has cracked a windshield for that reason on their F250-F550's (v10, v8 or either 7.3 or 6.0 diesel.)

6. Bry@n

Bry@n Senior Member

I have never heard this before. I don't think it would be caused by the engine though...

7. PremierLand

from detroit

I've talked to a few guys around here and we all have V10s, and have had this happen, never had a chip in it before or anything to cause it to crack... It could be something else, but something twisting the frame would need ALOT of power, and if its doing that, it cant be good...