1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

V XT Problem or Operator Error?

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by bltp203, Dec 29, 2009.

1. bltp203

bltp203 Senior Member

This is my first year with my VX-T, Before that have used straight blades for years. Overall I love the blade but I seem to have a problem stacking.

When I am in scoop position and attempt to raise the plow to stack the snow, the plow really seems like it is straining and doesn't want to raise. If I straighten the wings then the plow raises with no problem or will raise with no problem if I back up a foot or two while still in scoop,essentially taking the load off.

Am I just putting too much of a load on the plow while trying to raise it full of snow?
  2. JDiepstra

JDiepstra PlowSite.com Addict

Normally when I am stacking I just hold the up button for a second or two and the momentum of the truck pushing the snow up the pre-existing pile helps the snow and plow ride right up the pile. I don't really use the plow to lift snow much. You have to make sure that with your previous plowing, you have prepared the pile so that the snow and plow basically ride right up the pile. Snow should be pushed up using mostly momentum, with little help from the plow motor itself. Just my two cents though.
  3. Freddy130

Freddy130 Senior Member

I think what you have happening is the plow is actually tripping, if you open the wings up a little bit before you get to the pile then try to raise the plow you will have more success of it actually coming off of the ground. Our vees tend to do something like your discribing once and a while, just fool around a bit and you will find a position that works!

4. Mark Oomkes