1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

v plows for driveways

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by FIREMAN Q, Nov 22, 2010.

1. FIREMAN Q

FIREMAN Q Senior Member

just wondering how a vplow works with drivways. I have no experience with them so any pros or cons would be great!!!

2. Brian Young

Brian Young PlowSite Veteran

In short....V plows are the most versatile plow out there. As far as just for driveways, I've used mine in "V" position only a few times for driveways buried from the city plows. Last year we did a driveway that had an over hang above the garage and a pillar between the two doors. I put the plow in V position and was able to fit between the pillars and get closer than any other plower they had, so they said.....they haven't called back this year yet, IDK. If your just doing driveways, is it worth the extra couple grand....I would say no but if you have intentions of doing parking lots then yes, it's worth the investment.

3. ProSeasons

ProSeasons Senior Member

Anything a straight blade can do, you can do with a Vee Plow. You can leave them in the straight position for driveways, if you prefer.

4. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

Ive plowed for 23 years with a strait blade, driveways only. I then bought a Boss V (I got the impression from plowsite that it would improve my plowing time.

I wont go back to plowing with a straight blade. I use the scoop a lot, the V only a couple of times.

5. PTSolutions

PTSolutions PlowSite.com Addict

you can eliminate about 75% of backdragging with a v blade.

v blades are the best option for driveways especially when the snow gets deeper.