1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

V-plow vs Straight new purchase looking for opinions

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Dash, Nov 30, 2005.

1. Dash

Dash Junior Member

I am new to the plowing industry and I am making a purchase of a new plow for my truck. mostly residential and small commercial accounts. I decided on a Boss plow from a local retailer but I am looking for opinions on straight vs the v-plow. this is my first purchase and a big one to make just before the holidays. any pros or cons to them?

2004 F-350 DRW
  2. nekos

nekos Senior Member

im not 100% on this but i believe a straight blade scrapes and back drags a little better then a Vplow. also unless im missing something ... if you are mostly doing driveway's , there really isn't much need for a Vplow.
  3. NEPSJay

NEPSJay Senior Member

if ur lookin at v plows maybe you should look at the Blizzard 810 power plow...just a thought
  4. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 PlowSite Fanatic

I just bought a new 8' Boss straight blade for a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500, and a new 8.2 Boss V for a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500 this year.

The V does a wonderful job backdragging, if not better than the straight blade.

One thing you'll have to know, in order to backdrag with the V-plow, you'll have to put locking cylinders on it, which I THINK was about another $300.

As far as your operation, and the always available "go with a Blizzard 810", I could not use a Blizzard. I have a bank where the drive-thru's for the teller are smaller than 8'. With the V-plow, I can put it in scoop mode and push straight through the drives.