1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

v plow hand-held control techniques?

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by old skool, Dec 4, 2008.

1. old skool

old skool Senior Member
    from NW IL

First off....WOW... Ive been plowing for over 30 years and just installed a new Boss 8.2 V-plow on my 97 Chevy K3500. We got about 4" of snow today and I used it for the first time. and cant believe how great it is!

Ive got a question on the controls tho. Ive always used dash mounted rocker switches, mounted on the left in the past. That way I could operate the plow with my left hand, while shifting with my right.

Its really not taking very long to adjust to the new hand held control. Ive tried both right and left hand,, but Im finding I like"hanging" it from middle, ring, and little finger of my right hand,using my thumb to operate the switches. This still allows me to shift.

Im currious,what type of controls and techniques do you personally find best?

2. EricD701

EricD701 Senior Member

I mounted mine to the left on the dash, on a bracket that has it sitting at a 45 deg angle.

3. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

I made a bracket to mount the controller to the shift lever. the handle comes off the controller and your left with a rectangular key pad. some strong Velcro and it stays on the shift mount. Now you can shift and work the controller. You never have to search for the controller and your left hand is always on the steering wheel.

4. payton

payton Senior Member