1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

V box or tail gate

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by luky013, Nov 29, 2011.

1. luky013

luky013 Junior Member

I have a ford f-650 dump that I want to put a salt spreader in.I own 2 electric v box spreaders that I have in f-450's, they work great and never had a problem with. I have never used the under tail gate spreaders before, but I dont really like the idea of putting salt directly in the bed of the truck. but the cost of a v box (approx 9k) vs the cost of tail gate (approx $3,500) is substantial. any reccomendations?

2. Brian Young

Brian Young PlowSite Veteran

I know what you mean, I ran a tailgate spreader on our dump bed insert a few years ago and it took it's toll on the bed. I didn't have the luxury of being able to hose it out after every storm and it showed. Our (at that time) 2 season old bed looked like it was 10yrs old. All the paint on the inside was gone and /or big chunks of it were coming off. If you have the ability to hose it off very well after every storm and coat it with some Fluid Film for the price difference of the two spreaders I would go for the tailgate.

3. Longae29

Longae29 PlowSite.com Addict

I personally prefer v-boxes. We run several of both, In my eyes the pros of the vbox is its easier to control output, the spinner is in the middle of the truck giving a more even spread, being in the back of a truck makes the spinner be up higher, and thus less likely to be backed into a snowback and wrecked, less wear and tear on the box of the truck (we have been switching to flatbeds or chassis mount spreaders anyway).

4. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 2000 Club Member