1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

V-box in a 3/4 ton?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by jbone, Mar 22, 2006.

1. jbone

jbone Senior Member

Im not sure if this question has been answered before or not. Im new to the business and plan on getting a chevy 3/4 ton pickup long bed. I was wondering if they are capable of handling a full size V-Box spreader? I really dont wanna go with a 1 ton as this truck will be my dd in the off season.

Also how much do V-box spreaders go for used? I looked at a couple while I was looking at plows. I checked out Fisher, wester, boss, etc. but they dont offer any prices and I cant find any online. I know they vary Im just looking for a ball park price.
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2006
  2. firelwn82

firelwn82 PlowSite.com Addict

look on ebay under salt spreader. also yes you can stick a full size vbox in a 3/4 ton. hold about a yard of salt
  3. jbone

jbone Senior Member

thanks I looked recently on ebay and found nothing but Ill look again
  4. Jay brown

Jay brown PlowSite.com Addict

a 2500 or 250 will hold a full size as long as it is not fully loaded. i'm going with the last reply maybe 1 yard. used carbon steel spreaders i decent shape go for $1500. if you are going to use a 2500 you could use a pint size spreader like a 6 foot or something.
  5. EIB

EIB Senior Member

Do you really need a V box? Do you have a way to load it? I've been plowing for a long time and have use a Pro Flo 2. It holds about 1000lbs with no problem. It will also spread wet bulk salt and sand If I need It. Next year I going to a spreader for a dump insert. I've got the insert now just need the spreader. Going to get a Downeaster spreader.