1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Using ATF instead of Hydraulic Fluid

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by SlimJim Z71, Sep 22, 2001.

1. SlimJim Z71

SlimJim Z71 PlowSite.com Addict

I got my SnoWay last year, and I think my warranty is about up. I'm planning on flushing out the system, but if I remember correctly, the hydraulic fluid was about $7 a quart. I though I remembered hearing someone say they use ATF instead of hydraulic fluid in their SnoWay... is this safe to do? Any pro's or cons? Thanks guys!

Tim

2. Alan

Alan PlowSite.com Addict

I've been running Amsoil synthetic ATF in my Sno-Ways for several years now, seems to work just fine and it's a bunch cheaper than the stuff Sno-Way sells. Amsoil says it's a suitable replacement for low temp hydraulic oil. From waht I can tell, the plows cycle a bit faster (than with OEM fluid)when cold and no slower when they get warmed up.

3. DaveK

DaveK Senior Member

Not sure about Sno-way's oil but this is what Western suggests.

Automatic transmission fluid (ATF) DEXRON®III to -10° F (-23° C)

WESTERN® High Performance Fluid to -25° F (-32° C)

Texaco 1537 Aircraft Hydraulic Oil for below -25° F (-32° C)

Dave

Last edited: Sep 22, 2001
  4. 75

75 PlowSite.com Addict

ATF is what is specified for use in my Monarch powerpack, and I don't imagine the pump/hydraulic circuits are THAT different between the various makes.

One thing the SnoWay fluid might have that ATF doesn't is some sort of anti-ice additive - but if you keep the system flushed & in good repair, that shouldn't be a problem anyway!

5. SlimJim Z71