1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Used Plow won't Turn on

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Aminator, Sep 4, 2012.

1. Aminator

Aminator Junior Member
    from CT

Hello, I'm a newbie. Just got a 96 f250 7.3 Came with an old 8' fisher plow for free. On the hydraulic solenoid pak it says:

series A
    serial #F or E 132952 (paint makes it hard to read)

I've never had a plow before, and know nothing about them. Figured, if its free, I can plow my drive, the neighbors, or at least sell it for scrap if it comes to that. Driving it home the plow locked in the right position. No movement left. (previous owner said it's happened to him a couple of times and drying out the solenoids fixed it.)

Went to move the plow to a different spot in the driveway yesterday, and the joystick won't even turn on. No red light. No plow motor, nor plow lights will turn on.

I checked all connections and they looked good. I could not find the inline fuse though. Traced from the joystick, to the batteries, and then to the plow and nothing. It could be a POS Frankenstein job by the previous owner.

Any suggestions? How do I test if power is getting where it needs to go with a multimeter? I'm in Norwalk CT if you know of anyone who could take a look?

Thank you.

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Ok. Let's start simple. Does the light bar stay with the tk or does it come off with the plow? Is the joystick a small box or is it bolted to the dash

3. Aminator

Aminator Junior Member
    from CT

The lights on and for the plow, stay with the plow/hydraulic unit when detached from the truck.