1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

US DOT##### for Michigan

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by LJC Lawncare, Jan 9, 2009.

1. LJC Lawncare

LJC Lawncare Junior Member

I'm new to the business and I have seen a couple of 3/4 ton plow trucks with DOT #'s on their doors. I have noticed that most of the trucks that have the DOT # have advertisement on their trucks also. I know that in Michigan that it is required if your truck is over 10K, but I don't know if they also want you to have it if you are a commercial vehicle. I plow with my 3/4 ton Dodge and have magnets on the doors with my company name and phone number on it. Do I need a dot #, or should I take off my magnets?

Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  2. JDiepstra

JDiepstra PlowSite.com Addict

Since it sounds like you are a legit business, in Michigan, yes, you need the DOT number on the truck. It is free to acquire the number. Of course, the stickers are on your dime. It is not likely you will get nailed for it, but it is possible, so you decide.

Just my two cents here.... rather than using the magnetic sign, I have my truck lettered up with stickers by a company that does it professionally. I have the DOT # underneath all that, on the bottom of the door. It looks so much better than a magnetic sign. Too each their own though.

Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  3. Jon Schuler

Jon Schuler Member

Now I was just told that I needed medical cards for any drivers and log books for driving. Not sure about inspections though. PITA if you ask me. I can see a charge to get them renewed on the horizon. Anybody heard any different?

4. Superior L & L

Superior L & L PlowSite Veteran
    from MI

Medical cards for all drivers