1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

upgrading plow- upgrade price?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by mcfly89, Nov 9, 2011.

1. mcfly89

mcfly89 Senior Member

Ive been plowing for nearly 10 years now and am comfortable with my rates. I started out on an atv and graduated to a truck, then a newer truck, and so on. My past rigs have been 7.5 plows, but this year I'm upgrading to a new lot pro 8.5 with wings. thats 11 feet of plow!! Some of my military customers require that I charge per hour which has always worked out well in the past, but with the much faster plow, Im trying to figure out how to refigure my hourly rate to come up with a similar overall price. any suggestions?
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Put a smaller plow on.
  3. born2farm

born2farm 2000 Club Member

I do not think you will be able to increase your hourly rates based on buying a more efficient plow. In reality the customer doesnt care what you plow it with. The more efficient plow will allow you to plow your lots faster. Thus opening up more room on your route and allowing you to take on more customers. This in turn allowing you to make more money per hour, over a course of a storm.
  4. SnowMatt13

SnowMatt13 PlowSite.com Addict

Agree with what Born2Farm said.
    Since you should be more efficient, see if you can't pick up another local account.
  5. John_DeereGreen

John_DeereGreen PlowSite.com Addict

My thinking was what the 2 guys above me said...

Why not just add more lots since you're more efficient now? For the hourly stuff, just take the wings off...
  6. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine