1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

unimount wiring help?????

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by jsc824, Dec 3, 2010.

1. jsc824

jsc824 Member
    from N.H.

I just purchased a used western unimount. It came off of a 89 Chevy 1500. I am putting it on a 97 chevy 1500.

I have the wiring harness from the 89 but i don't think it will work as the headlight connections are not the same.

My question is, is this what i need.

1. Headlight harness 61515? I have DRL does this include the drl relay or do I have to get that separately?

2. I have the solenoid from the truck i removed it from. Will that work on my truck along with the battery cables?

Any help will be great. I am a complete newbie when it comes to plows.

Thanks in advacne

2. Crash935

Crash935 2000 Club Member

Harness depends on what headlights you have on the truck, 2b/2d or hb3/hb4.

Drl kit is just a wire with to female spade terminals on one end and a inline fuse at the other, pretty easy to make your self.

Solenoid will work, they are not truck specific.

3. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

61515 will give you way more parts (at more cost) than you need. Just need a 61716 plug in harness for the HB3/HB4's and then a 61584 DRL kit if you want the DRL's to switch to the plow. Which is optional.

Everything else you have can be reused.

4. jsc824

jsc824 Member
    from N.H.

Ok thanks guys. I dont care for the DRL, as a matter of fact I pulled the fuse out, bc I was they would always turn on when I start the truck by remote start, and it bothered me in the wee hours of the morning.