1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Uni Mount Problems

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by linckeil, May 4, 2009.

1. linckeil

linckeil PlowSite.com Addict
    from CT

So I just picked up a 1996 F350 with a Uni-mount on it. The plow wasn’t working when I got it, so I’m going through it now. I have zero experience with the Uni-mount but know the conventional set-up well.

I put in a new solenoid so now I have power where I should and the pump runs. But there are still problems. When angling left, the plow goes right. When raising, the motor hums, but the blade doesn’t go up. I downloaded the mechanics manual online and ran through it. .

So based on my symptoms, it appears there is a problem with the S3 (4-way) coil/valve.
    The manual says to check for magnetic pull at the coil. S1 & S2 have magnetic pull when running the corresponding function, but there is no magnetic pull at S3 when angling left or raising (or at any function for that matter). The manual says to check the resistance at the coil. It should have 6.7 ohms of resistance. All 3 of the coils have about 7.1 ohms – including S3.

So what is my problem? The resistance is where it should be, but there is no magnetic pull. Is the S3 coil shot? Or is the S3 solenoid cartridge valve bad? I have yet to remove either from the unit. Does it sound like just the valve is stuck and needs a cleaning?

Thanks

2. Crash935

Crash935 2000 Club Member

Check for power on the wire at the coil along with ground on the black orange at the coil. Ground should be constant, power will be when function selected.

3. linckeil

from CT