1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

unexpected contractual implications-anyboby else ever have esq prereead there policy

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by sidelinellc, Dec 2, 2011.

1. sidelinellc

sidelinellc Junior Member
    from 06093

long post-apologize :confused: (ct. subcontractor with bobcats/plow truck)
    I have been running as a sub working in various condo complex for the past ten years, for a larger company. I have Arlington insurance. Recently the company i plow for mandated a liability and damage contract they produced a a requirement of employment as a sub.

Long story short, I'm not a lawyer, but was smart enough to hire one that specializes in insurance language to review the proposed contract and my current insurance.

As it turns out, it would be unwise to sign the contract as it would adversely effect my insurance, basically making it invalid. (shall not assume any contractual liability)-breach of contract
    Further more, the contract would have held myself solely responsible for any and all presumed damages at the complex i do work at even though i wouldn't be the only sub there.
    Apparently, the company I sub for insurer mandated this.
    Currently at a cross roads rite now. Has this happen to anyone in the past and how did you handle it. Thinking it may be time to hang it up.
    thank you in advance
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2011
  2. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine

Sounds like the company you subbed for is taking a few pointers from these nationals..... cya
  3. thelettuceman

thelettuceman PlowSite.com Addict

Sub for a different company
  4. sidelinellc

from 06093