1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Uneven front end height

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by rdaily104, Jan 22, 2008.

1. rdaily104

rdaily104 Member
    from Indiana

I have noticed my steering wheel was off center just a little. I was reading about the torsion bars and thought maybe some idiot adjusted them prior to me buying my truck and screwed it up. Well, I noticed the left side was 3/8 of an inch higher than the right side of the truck. Would that mess up my steering or something else I need to do? If it is the torsion bars, were is the adjustment bolt? I have looked and can not find it... I am no mechanic and need help!!!!
  2. Burkartsplow

Burkartsplow PlowSite Veteran

The torsion bar screws are located under the doors right before you get to the bed on either side. When you look at the back of your cab if it is a reg cab then you will see two bolts pointing down that have the torsion bar connected to them that runs to your front axle.I dont know if those are point of your problem, but that is where they are.
  3. streetfrog

streetfrog Senior Member

Most are a lil uneven from the factory. And that would not cause your wheel being off. Not unless they were severely different heights difference. Check further. Probably either simple alignment or very possibly that the idler arm is bad.
  4. mayhem

mayhem PlowSite.com Addict
    from Peru MA

This article is full of photos and how to's. It includes replacing the t-bar keys, whihc you don't need to worry about...the key thing is it identifies where the adjusters are and how to properly adjust them. FYI, one full turn of the adjustment bolt is about a quarter inch of lift ion that corner.