1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Unemployment Question???

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Nickdubya, Oct 11, 2008.

1. Nickdubya

Nickdubya Junior Member
    from Chicago

I am a paving contractor and am snow plowing for the first time this winter. My guys usually go on unemployment from December 1 to April 15. I run a straight to the books business and I will not pay cash so they can still collect unemployment. I have workman's compensation and have to report the hours. How do others handle this?
  2. nick858

nick858 Senior Member
    from Iowa

Not answering your question here, but posing another, How is it determined what your guys receive on unemployment? I mow in the summer, and have a couple guysI would like to keep on, but I was told Unemp. just pays 30% flat rate of the wages?
  3. Superior L & L

Superior L & L PlowSite Veteran
    from MI

In Michigan I "think" its 67% of your average take home pay.
  4. Jay brown

Jay brown PlowSite.com Addict

it's a state thing, so it will differ....my guys get $250 (apx) per week.....that is the MAX
  5. Jay brown

you could keep track of all the hrs plowing and add them up into 40 hrs per week and start paying them full weeks before April 15 and take them off unemployment....and they will still draw benefits for apx 3 months
  6. dirtmandan2

dirtmandan2 Senior Member

Maybe you could bank the hours for them and when they get 40 hours cut them a check,
  7. Jay brown

assuming that you have an unemployment account set up, they(your workers) would have to qualify by working the past 2 or 3 quarters for a company that pays into an umployment account.....
  8. Kingwinter

Kingwinter Senior Member