1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Under bumper back up lights how to wire

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by NEUSWEDE, Feb 12, 2005.

1. NEUSWEDE

NEUSWEDE Senior Member

I am going to mount lights under my bumper like I have seen a lot of people do so when in reverse I have more light. How do I go about wiring up these lights so when the reverse lights kick on so do these?
    Also any good source for these? Napa?
    Thanks

2. timm9

timm9 Senior Member

I'm no expert but this is what I did.

I removed the tail light assembly. I then used a meter, with the trans in reverse to determine what wire was powering the back up lights. I then connected/jumpered off that wire and ran in down through the bed sidewall to the light I was installing.

3. cbelawn

cbelawn Member

I tapped into the wire at the backup light socket and ran the wire along the bumper. My lights are mounted so they slide into my trailer hitch reciever and can be removed easyly. Purchase the lights at napa, a farm store, ect. I know a lighting rep so i get all mine as "demo". peace

4. plowed

plowed Senior Member

To do it right, you need to run it through a relay. If you just tap into the circuit it will put a lot of amps through it and will lead to an overload. A guy I know did this and it ended up toasting the wiring harness and the whole truck almost caught fire. Do it right, do it once.

5. oldmankent

oldmankent PlowSite.com Addict