1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Ultramount wiring 95 GMC

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by chevguy6809, Oct 4, 2014.

1. chevguy6809

chevguy6809 Junior Member

I posted in the New to the Industry section as well, but figured I would throw this out to the Western gurus around here. I am a newbie when it comes to mounting plow and wiring these etc but with the right answer I can do it no problem.

I have a 95 GMC 1500, that I just got an older Ultramount 7'6" Pro plow for. I believe it is a pro because it has 4 trip springs and 1 shock absorber. It only has 2 plugs on the plow, and the 00' Powerstroke it came off of only had the relay wiring hooked up to it, so all I should need is to get the GM headlight adapters and use the old relay system correct? I can send pictures of the plow if need be. Thanks for any help guys! Looks to be a LOT of GOOD info and GOOD people on here to keep coming back to in the future!

2. mishnick

mishnick 2000 Club Member

If it's an old two plug relay system the plow functions will work even without the headlight harness. The trick u may face is getting the plow mounted on the truck if it's unimount. If it's ultramount no problem.

3. nealybird

nealybird Senior Member

yes, 4 springs and a shock would be a pro. so, they gave you some relay wiring off of something? If so, if that wiring is good, and has the normal 9 pin main harness with it (will have part # 61437 on the tag if it's still there, and no yellow stripe in the loom), then you'd just need the correct h/l harness to use with that wiring.
    If you have hb3/hb4 headlights on your truck it would be a 61716 that you need.