1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

ultra mount won't raise properly

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by techteacher, Feb 8, 2011.

1. techteacher

techteacher Junior Member

I have been plowing for four years with with my ultra mount and this year it has been acting funny. it has to be over full of fluid to raise or turn. any ideas why that would be. I am filling it on the back were there is a square headed bolt that is the correct place I think.
  2. Tony350

Tony350 Senior Member

On some of the old ultramounts the pick up filter falls off. If it does this it can't pick up the fluid at the proper level, if you overfill it the it can get fluid. Found this out on my dads old ultramount pro. They sold an update kit, it came with a bracket to hold the filter in.

This is my best guess. If you want to check take the reservoir off. If that is the problem it will be laying in the bottom.
  3. twinman326

twinman326 PlowSite.com Addict

The tube might of fell off...
  4. mishnick

mishnick 2000 Club Member