1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Ultimate gas saving/ manuvering/ plow /jeep set-up?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by PLOWIN DOUGH, Mar 23, 2008.

1. PLOWIN DOUGH

PLOWIN DOUGH Member

Hey guys, this is my first year in plowing it went well except for $3000 in truck repairs on one truck but that is to be expected. Now Im gonna be getting a 2nd vehicle as my new daily driver to save gas. I also want it to be my new plow rig, i do mostly drives but still want to be able to push small lots incase. Im almost set on getting a jeep wrangler but wouldnt mind a cherokee. Id like a 4 cyl. is this to weak, do I need the 4.0? I cant decide to buy new or used? And now finally my main question which plow? I want to backdrag efficently I could save $ with a straight blade with a backdrag edge on it or should I buck up and invest in something with real downpressure? Whats my best bet with d.p. snowway boss ? Remember its for a jeep so weight is an issue. Also I think I want a eight footer can a jeep handle this?

2. Jello1

Jello1 Senior Member

I'd say the 8' plow may be pushing it. My old boss got an 01 cherokee brand new and had a 7' plow with no problems pushing. Normally people stay with a 6'6" plow though. And yes, i'd definetly stay with the 4.0 liter. My daily driver is a 98 Cherokee and with aftermarket exhaust and K&N intake it would easily move a 6'6" plow.

3. NBI Lawn

NBI Lawn PlowSite.com Addict