1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Types of salt

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by dmlandcare, Oct 20, 2006.

1. dmlandcare

dmlandcare Junior Member

I had a customer ask what type of salt we use. I am new to the plowing/salting world, and i didnt know what to tell him. He mentioned that some guys are using this new salt. Didnt know what it was called. Anyway, are there different types of salt used for commercial lots that i should be aware of.

2. kevinwebster1

kevinwebster1 Member

i just asked this similar question a few days ago and have gotten no responses from anybody. i bought out a lawn n scape company that did snow removal as well this past summer. So i too am new to the industry. The salt i got that was left over from the other companies garage just looks like stuff purchased from a hardware store. i dont know if the people on here use anything different but in a grounds maintenance magazine i just got they had an add for Peladow calcium chloride pellets. do i know if it works? no, ive never tried it. however, if they can advertise in a specialized magazine...they must not be full of too much bullsh*t. i think i might check their prices and availability and give them a try. anyway the fact is, many people on here dont feel like taking the time to help other people out. i have actually been very upset with how unhelpful people can be on here. and im sure if someone reads this other than you and i, ill get someone saying, "you'd be better off if you didnt make fun of the people on the board." but whatever. so im trying to give you my two cents on basically any info i have. best of luck to ya
  3. Scottscape

Scottscape Senior Member