1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Type of truck for a strarter

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by drawerz, Nov 16, 2002.

1. drawerz

drawerz Junior Member
    from PA

Hey gals and guys. I'm a newbie here. I really like the site thusfar. I am wondering with all of the trucks out there, how do I know what type to get to start a plowing business? I will be handling commercial (rather small dentist-doctors offices)/residential locations. Ford, Dodge Chevy? What types of plows are best? Does a plow fit all models of a truck? Any specific combos? Thanks in advance everyone.

2. Snoworks

Snoworks Senior Member

Were do I start. Ok, first you say, you are going to be plowing small commercial and residential accounts. What are your needs in the off months? Can you use, say, a pick up in your other occupation? Where do you see your plowing business growing in a year or two? Make sure you buy a vehical that is pratical for all seasons, if possible.

Most all plow companies make plows for all major brand trucks and suv's. You can go on any particular plow company's web page and check if they have a plow for the truck you are interested in.

All major, (ie. Western, Meyer, Fisher, Boss) brand plows I have seen and or used are quality products. I choose a Western product for my first purchase, its a highly tested product with suppliers within minutes of most avr. populated cities (In the snow belt of course).

CGB

3. Pelican

Pelican 2000 Club Member

Welcome to Plowsite!!!:drinkup:

Snoworks makes some great points.