1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Two problems with Western Cable ISARMATIC

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by dneiding, Jul 30, 2008.

1. dneiding

dneiding Member

I am working to get ready for winter and this is my first year with this truck and plow. Previously I had a Meyer E47.

Here are the problems I am having with my Western:

1. The lift cylinder is very, very tough to collapse all the way. With the plow attached, when you put the joystick in the float position the plow drops just fine. However, if you then try to push the lift arm down further (to slack up the chain for example) you cannot. The only way I can get it to lower all the way is to hook a come along up to the lift arm and the plow and crank it down.

2. The plow will not angle to the right (passenger-side). It angles left just fine; nice and fast. The motor runs but it doesn’t budge. If I drive the plow up to a tree and push on it while trying to angle it to the right it will sloooooowly move back to center. When the motor runs as you are trying to angle to the right the motor seems a little more high pitched.

Finally, one last question. How do you drain the fluid? The drain plug is on the bottom and I don’t see how to get a wrench on it due to the bumper being in the way. Do I need to take the pump off of the lift frame?

Thanks in advance!!!

Derek

Last edited: Jul 30, 2008
  2. wild bill

wild bill PlowSite.com Addict

plow wont work