1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Two different tires on 4X4

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by PR Fect, Sep 15, 2012.

1. PR Fect

PR Fect Member

I just pick up a 1998 Chev 3500 4X4. It has a 8 1/2 foot Boss Pro V. I have plowed snow for 30 some years. Mostly with equipment like end loaders, and large dump trucks. So I am new to the pickup truck plowing. This pickup has LT265/75R16 tires on the front, and two LT285/75R16 tires on the back. My first thought is no good for the drive train when locked up. Does it make that big of difference? If I only go 4 wheel wile plowing, will it hurt? Is there a reason you would want smaller tires on the front? PR
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Most likely that is what the guy had lying around. If they were 16's and 17's you'll have trouble.
  3. Mark13

Mark13 PlowSite Fanatic

You want them a whole lot closer in size then that. Some small variations are ok but either switch them all to 285s or all to 265s. That much difference is just asking for broken parts.
  4. 91AK250

91AK250 PlowSite.com Addict

i can already hear somthing going boom.
  5. GSS LLC

GSS LLC Senior Member

Larger tires make fewer revolutions in a mile than smaller tires. That makes your transfer case and drive shafts and axles try to spin at different speeds, breaking stuff, match tires ASAP.
  6. vintage steel

vintage steel Member

The 285 and 265 refers the the width of the tire. The 285's are wider than the 265's. They are all 75 series tires, and therefore, are all [theoretically] the same heigth and diameter. They should be fine.
  7. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic