1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Turn signals acting up

Discussion in 'Blizzard Plows Discussion' started by blizhos, Dec 23, 2009.

1. blizhos

blizhos Junior Member
    from Midwest

just had a 760LT (2006 leftover, still in crate) mounted on my 2008 Silverado 1500. When I turn on either turn signal they blink normal for a couple blinks then the blink speed doubles or more (meaning they blink faster). I asked the installer and he said this was normal as I'm drawing more current due to the extra plow lights....I'm no electrician, but I think he's blowing smoke. Anyone know if this is normal or how to fix? :help:

2. Mark Witcher

Mark Witcher Senior Member

My 2008 Ford F450 does the same thing. Its similar to hooking up a trailer , which causes the blinker relay to signal faster. Thats why for years you had to buy a heavy duty relay when you towed. My ford has seperate system for front and rear blinkers.

Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  3. Pristine PM ltd

Pristine PM ltd PlowSite Veteran

You might have a light out and not realize it. Check your lights with the controller disconnected, see if there is anything that isn't normal. Even check mirror lights.

4. augerandblade

augerandblade PlowSite.com Addict

check for a good ground to the lights.

5. beam

beam Senior Member
    from pa

that is a good dealer cause it sends them people my way instead check for good ground a light tower hook up grind paint a little and gat a heavy duty turn relay and problem should go away

6. blizhos

blizhos Junior Member
    from Midwest