1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Trying to figure snow bank size for a lot after pushing a foot

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Four Seasons, Nov 14, 2010.

1. Four Seasons

Four Seasons Senior Member

I have no experience with commercial lots. Im trying figure the size of snow bank when a foot of snow is pushed straight for 400 feet. The snow will need to be hauled off when the bank is 4 ft tall and 8 or 10 ft deep so Im wondering if I will have to haul after just 4-6 inches or if I have more room than Im thinking to store snow.
  2. In2toys

In2toys Senior Member

If you know the lot dimensions, just figure the cu. yards. L X W X H in Feet & divide by 27
  3. Four Seasons

whats 27??? but doing it out mathmatically I think adds up to way more volume than what the real world situation does. Compaction and other factors?
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2010
  4. mrsnowman

mrsnowman Senior Member

That depends on how deep the snow bank is or can be pushed back.
  5. Four Seasons

thats all in there
  6. In2toys

In2toys Senior Member

that'll give you how many cubic yards of snow or mulch, or whatever. For example, a box 3' X 3' X 3' = 27 cu. ftt. divide by 27 & that will give you how many cubic yards. 1. at least that's how I figure it. Agreed on the compaction issue. there's really no way to figure what you are looking for because of that. how dry or wet the snow is are other factors. Cubic yards would be worst cast scenario due to compaction.
  7. Four Seasons

right. I really need to figure a general idea though. Because with a foot of snowfall, plowing 400 feet into a 10 ft row, my snow bank is somewhere between 4 and 40 feet tall. I have no idea.
  8. newhere