1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Truckers really aren't that bright are they?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by IPLOWSNO, Dec 11, 2014.

1. IPLOWSNO

IPLOWSNO PlowSite.com Addict

This year I'm plowing csx intermodal site,
    They load trailers on a train with a gantry crane.

I'm in a John Deere until my new SDLG shows up. I'm walking too it ,we got hit with 12"s so we've been at it 10 hours so far .
    Trucks are getting stuck its our first plow of the season so I'm still learning what the trucks need cleared first, how the gantry operates, so I hear these truckers bitching why aren't they salting mind you there's 4"s of snow constantly getting replaced as we clear it,
    I said what's salt gonna do, they said melt it duh!
    I said I'll push it into a pile way before it starts working lol.
    I said how about you guys go where it's plowed instead of finding the deepest spot there is !

I left for a break and my replacement who really sucks as an operator made a mess huge mess, I think that's why the truckers were pissed this guy was just aimlessly wandering around.
    I was pushing snow on a corner into a ditch, it was a long push just before the RR tracks , really the only place too put it.
    This ditch drops down 30' and I'm using the snow on my blade too push the old snow farther out so I'm not making a huge pile .
    I get back there and besides the windrows the guy left, I'm trying too keep all the roads clean, I got it figured out where the trucks need cleared by now and I get too the cliff and see loader tracks going to the bottom.