1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Truck thoughts please

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by ernest, Jan 10, 2015.

1. ernest

ernest Member

Im no truck expert and we always had fords f250's.I'm looking at a 2005 chev. siverado ext.cab with 43,ooo mi. like new shape- in & out - elderly driven . It has the BIG BLK. 8.1 4.10 AXLE - whatever that means and ALLISON TRANS. FOR $ 20 K GOOD TRUCK / PRICE ?? WOULD USE FOR PLOWING AND LAWN SERVICE

2. Cosmic Charlie

Cosmic Charlie Senior Member

Well known quality truck ...
    Big Power - Big Fuel Bill -

(LS or LT ?
    My guess - overpriced - buy for $ 15-16-17 Max
    Many opinions here
    Put up on a lift. any rust on fuel lines, brake lines, tranny lines, frame ... = Beware
    Records of fluid changes ? Time for tires ? Any Warranty from dealer ?

2005 Chevrolet SILVERADO 2500 HD PICKUP-3/4 Ton-V8
    Extended Cab LS 4WD

Rough Trade-In Average Trade-In Clean Trade-In CleanRetail
    Base Price $8,250 $9,600 $10,700 $13,725
    Mileage (43,000) $3,425 $3,425 $3,425 $3,425
    Total Base Price $11,675 $13,025 $14,125 $17,150
    8.1L V8 Engine $400 $400 $400 $450
    Price with Options $12,075 $13,425 $14,525 $17,600

http://www.nadaguides.com/Cars/2005...-PICKUP-3-4-Ton-V8/Extended-Cab-LS-4WD/Values

3. ernest

ernest Member

Thanks,gas is cheap now,but for how long??? price did seem too high.Pulling a lawn trailer around for 4-6 hours a day could get expensive.

4. White Gardens

White Gardens 2000 Club Member

Ya, Maybe a shade on the high side for the asking price, but used truck prices are all over the place right now.