1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

truck operating temperatures

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by QKSnowRemoval, Nov 24, 2009.

1. QKSnowRemoval

QKSnowRemoval Senior Member

This is my first year plowing and i have some questions about driving with the plow on as well as the trucks operating temperature. i have read other posts kinda replying to this but i haven't gotten the answer im looking for.
    First question is when you are going from account to account do you have the plow lifted all the way up or do u have it down just a little the get more air the the grill/radiator and coolers?
    Second question is about what temperature does your truck run at when u have a plow on it? my gauge was running at 200 to 220 maybe. (not sure on the 220). but this was on a day when it was 40 to 50 degrees out side when i had to move it from storage and also get service work done on it. I guess im wondering what should it run at when its winter out and alot colder, because stock with no plow it runs 185 or so. And to cool down the truck do you guys have the heater on high to help dissipate the heat from the radiator? Also isnt the max amount of temp a thermostat can handle is 210
    Third question: Can you monitor the temp of your trans cooler with the radiator gauge? I have a dodge ram and it has a stock aux trans cooler, and its in between the a/c cooler and radiator, but i know it would be better to just install a trans gauge but could the radiator gauge give me a guess of what temp the trans is running at.
  2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Raise the plow all the way. If the truck gets too warm then either drop or angle the blade