1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

truck mod for crazy mountain plowing

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by martinf, Aug 14, 2016.

1. martinf

martinf Junior Member

Hi all. New to this forum with what I would imagine to be an unusual plowing issue.
    I live up in the Cascade mtns of Washington with a mile long gravel drive way . I have 5 tight switchbacks and up to 14% grade.

I've been plowing my road for 18 years with a dedicated snow rig that's an IH scout 800 with chains on all fours. Works great, no complaints about that. BUT, man has it been hard on my axles! Several differentials in 18 years. This winter I twisted an axle and, after a pia day-long repair in a January snow bank, I promised myself I would upgrade my drive line.

...I'm getting to the question soon. My big problem is the dana 27 in my front axle. You can't upgrade a scout to a dana 44 stock without mods. So I've dug in and done just that. A dodge dana 44 up front and a GM 14 bolt in the rear. And doing this required me to do a spring over axle conversion.

So now I have a much more stout drive line BUT also 6" of lift and a wider wheel base with my wheels sticking out 2" on each side.
    Questions:
    All other things being equal, does the lift help me or hurt me? I know I need to lower my plow bracket.
    Now my plow isn't as wide as my new wider wheel base. Will driving over my windrows be a problem?

2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

Put wings on the plow or get a wider plow.

How did you address the new driveline angle?

Don't lower the mount, build up / extend the plow side mount up.

3. martinf

martinf Junior Member