1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Truck hunting question

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by committed2grow, May 31, 2009.

1. committed2grow

committed2grow Junior Member

I've been landscaping for 5 years and plowing for 2 and am looking for a truck of my own to start out on. I've got the wheel base and suspension understood but looking for a specific motor has my head spinning. From what I've read deisel or gas will work and each has their followers, but which deisel or gas is where I get lost. I haven't been able to find a ford 7.3 Deisel with a reasonable amount of miles, and Chevy and GMC engines I have no clue about. I have found a 2003 Chevy 3500 with 50,000 miles 4x4 (engine is an 8 cylinder gasser and the engine pic shows vortec on it if that helps). I also have found a 2005 F250 Superduty 8 cylinder gasser with 49,000 miles. If these aren't right I can keep looking but I just want to specify what I'm looking for.
  2. BigDave12768

BigDave12768 PlowSite.com Addict

I would buy the Ford gasser if you are only looking between Ford and Chevy. Fords sit higher and dont need the added help to carry a plow.
  3. committed2grow

The brand isn't as important as the engine tranny and suspension setup is to me. I have no brand loyalty.
  4. larryhd

larryhd Senior Member
    from vermont

chevys carry plows very good they don't need any help to carry plows

5. exmark1

exmark1 PlowSite.com Addict

Did you crank the T-bars on that? I had a 2005 the was HORRID with the plow on it, sold it once the frame cracked and had to be fixed! NEVER AGAIN
  6. FordFisherman

FordFisherman PlowSite.com Addict
    from 06611