1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

trip edge vs. full trip plow

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by goose204, Sep 3, 2011.

1. goose204

goose204 Junior Member

I am new to the industry and am trying to decide on a plow for my 1/2 ton truck.
    what are the pros/cons to the full trip plow vs. a trip edge plow? Any help would be appreciated
  2. wideout

wideout Senior Member
    from iowa

First off welcome! second use the search its been talked about before
  3. mercer_me

mercer_me PlowSite Fanatic

Everybody has a diferent opinion on this. I like the trip edge becouse it will trip and you can keep on going, it doesn't stop you dead in your tracks. It's alot easier on your truck to have a trip edge.
  4. wideout

wideout Senior Member
    from iowa

Mines a full trip and its never stopped me dead in my tracks it trips and you keep on going
  5. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

You will find most people will favor the type of trip they have. Look for responses that include "I have plowed with both types...." to get unbiased opinions/experiences. I qualify my response by saying I have only owned/plowed with trip edge plows. Some people that plow mostly gravel favor the trip edge. If the blade trips on a rock, you can keep plowing with just a small strip of snow left behind. If you plow mostly paved lots with many curbings a full trip is the only way to go. The full trip will roll over a curbing with minor shock transmitted to the truck. Hit a curb with a trip edge plow and you will be pounding the truck into the curb, and damaging the curb. Trip edges are great for launching partially frozen sod clumps into the neighbor's yard.