1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

trip edge or full trip?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Calamari, Oct 12, 2005.

1. Calamari

Calamari Member

Hi all,
    Fantastic site.

I am new to the snowplow business and am curious about the advantages and/or disadvantages of owning a trip edge or full-trip plow. I'll be plowing in the city and suburbs, north of Boston, but not city streets (I hope). Parking lots and driveways mostly. I will be getting a Fisher plow soon. Are all Fishers trip-edge now? Any good dealers or repair shops in eastern Mass?

Pray for snow.

2006 F-250 Power Stroke
    Fisher 8' ???
    Boss ???

1989 Ramcharger
  2. douglasl330

douglasl330 Senior Member

Almost every one around here runs a trip edge. There is a good dealer in Dracut,but I don't know how far you are from them. There is a great dealer in N. Chelmsford . They are open during storms no matter what time or day and do repairs during the storms. I blew a fitting on my old truck during the blizzard and they had me back in the action in less than ten minutes. The parts guy held the flashlight while I installed the fitting and reconnected the pump. Can't beat service like that!

Good luck on whatever you choose!
  3. Calamari

Calamari Member

Thanks for the info. I'm in Melrose but am around Merrimac Valley during the day. Thanks again.

Looking for something like that closer to Boston.
  4. karl klein

karl klein Senior Member