1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Trip edge on Fisher plow

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Andy Bloom, Feb 28, 2012.

1. Andy Bloom

Andy Bloom Junior Member

Hey all, I'm new to the biz and only plowing my long gravel driveway. I have chosen to use shoes on my plow because of the gravel but, as soon as I start plowing, the cutting edge trips and the shoes dig in and so does the plow itself just above the cutting edge. Shouldn't the cutting edge remain somewhat stiff while using the shoes???

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Lower your plow shoes a little more. The weight of the plow will make it sink into the gravel if its not frozen.

3. Rod (NH)

Rod (NH) Member

I know what you mean. You'll get two deep grooves in your drive from the shoes after they cause the trip edge to trip and stay tripped until you notice what's happening. That's why I take the shoes off altogether when the ground is not frozen. Raise the plow a bit so the edge doesn't hit the ground. Better to leave a little extra snow than plow up gravel. It's no fun plowing in those conditions but that's what has worked best for me and my 1/2 mile gravel drive over many years.

4. jsc824

jsc824 Member
    from N.H.

Do a search for yard guard , gravel guard, sod pipe. Best upgrade I have made on my plow.

5. Andy Bloom

Andy Bloom Junior Member