1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Triggers......

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Joel B., Jan 31, 2003.

1. Joel B.

Joel B. Senior Member
    from MN

This is my first year plowing and I could use a little advice. I have a 2" trigger on my accounts and we have had 3 snowfalls in the last week or so, 1", 1.5" 1.5".

I did plow the first two times since we have had no snow here, I have been bored silly and wanted to try my plow. I didn't charge anyone for either time. I am thinking that was a mistake. Am I setting a precident now that I will plow at less than 2" for free? Now I'm looking outside again at about 1.5" and wondering if people are going to expect me to plow again for free (since I did it on the last two snowfalls).

"They" are predicting more snow Sunday which should put everyone over the 2" trigger. Shoud l I just wait until after that snowfall to plow?

Thanks to all,

Joel B.

2. jbutch83

jbutch83 Senior Member

I have found out that you can't do anything for free. Maybe a reduced price, but not for free. Can't afford to pay bills with not getting paid for doing things. Maybe check with your accounts, see what they think. I have not had any complaints yet, even when plowing when the triggers were not met. I don't mean to plow when there is only 1 in. down and you have a 3 in. trigger, but if it is really close, then do it. If you are only expecting 3 in., then I would wait till you have close to that down before going out, but if they are calling for 6 or more, you have to get out when you trigger is met, otherwise it gets too hard on the equipment to plow 6 or more inches at one time.

John

3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine