1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Treated salt?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Stud Bro, Dec 19, 2007.

1. Stud Bro

Stud Bro Senior Member

I'm new to the salting end of the business. I have plowed for years and this is the first year that i have had a salter truck. We use balk rock salt costs me $53.00 a yard delivered (is this a good price). I guess my question is what is the difference between rock salt and treated? How much dose treated cost? Witch one is better?
    Thanks for all the advice

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Treated salt is simply rock salt (could be bagged or bulk) that has had something applied to it which usually lowers it's freeze point and improves its melting capability in some way (depending on what it is "treated" with). Some treatments result in the salt being less corrosive because what it is treated with is noncorrosive and by saturating and coating the salt, the result is a less corrosive product. Since the freeze point is lowered, there is less "freeze/thaw cycle" which is the prime culprit in concrete damage. So the result is less damage to concrete. It will tend to not "burn" vegetation and is less irritating to pets' feet. However, some treatments have the opposite effect and are actually more corrosive than ordinary rock salt.

Cost varies, but is naturally more expensive than plain rock salt.

Better? Depends on what you're looking for (see first paragraph).

3. BSDeality

BSDeality Senior Member

I'd just like to piggy back on Mick's reply. You can use less treated salt than straight salt typically. I'm amazed how far a couple shovel full's of magic salt can go on melting down a driveway.

4. Stud Bro