1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Travel with wings on or off?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by danielboone, Nov 15, 2011.

1. danielboone

danielboone Junior Member

Do you recommend traveling with the wings on or off? Obviously the bad is that for me I am 10 foot wide if my blade is set straight. The good is you don't have to keep taking them on and off. Maybe it just depends on the type of roads you are on and or how far you are going. Another option would be to leave only one on. Being a rookie I would lean towards off at least at first. Is it legal without an oversized load permit? I just checked out the Missouri oversized permit law and it says 8'6" although I am not sure what 10' at an angle comes to.
  2. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran

Take the 30 seconds to remove them. If you damage a car, you'll be wishing you had.
  3. muffy189

muffy189 Senior Member

i usually have mine on i just keep the plow angled. alot depends on what time of the day when im out at night and plowing i keep them on if its in the daytime i keep the one on the right on, its realy personal preference. Of course i love the guys with the 9' 2 " v plows with wings now those are wide
  4. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

I have a set of wings on an 8 foot plow, which I am assuming is the same as you have. It puts me just under 10 foot wide. As Banksy said, I leave them on during night time hours, more like 12am to 5 am or so. Any other time, I take them off while traveling between jobs. Here in Ohio we have a pretty lax ODOT, but other states have strict ones, so I guess it's up to you on how you want handle it.
  5. Lazy John

Lazy John Junior Member