1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Transmission Temp?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by madskier1986, Dec 27, 2011.

1. madskier1986

madskier1986 Senior Member

Okay, so i am new to plowing and itching to do a full run but need the snow to stick to the pavement. But have one question about transmission temps.

I have been told and read numerous times to be careful not to get the trans temp to high. But what is consider running to hot?

I notice that my truck runs about 90-120 degree with out plow and will jump to about 130ish with the plow on. But I have no idea yet of what might be the normal temp with the plow on.

2. H&HPropertyMait

H&HPropertyMait Senior Member

250 is HOT, anyhting higher and you're melting *****.
    if you're below 200 you're fine and dandy.

3. madskier1986

I hope never to go over 200. But good to know at 250 I will start doing damage. Thank you for that info.

4. H&HPropertyMait

H&HPropertyMait Senior Member

You bet, ya pulling 15k pounds up hills I only see 200-230. You'll be fine.

5. KTLawnCo

KTLawnCo Member
    from VA

Put an extra trans cooler on or a bigger one then what you already have. A buddy of mine swears by the ones that have external fans on them. Fairly cheap compared to a new tranny.

6. NICHOLS LANDSCA

NICHOLS LANDSCA PlowSite Veteran

Keep it under 200

7. mnglocker

mnglocker Senior Member

I let up at 180 and run low range to keep it cool. Aux. coolers with their own fan are a great idea. You don't get enough air flow plowing. Hence things heat up.

8. randomb0b123

randomb0b123 PlowSite.com Addict
    from america